Regimes and Political Institutions

Regimes and Political Institutions

This research group studies the institutions, located at different levels of government, which regulate a political community, organize the political system and shape the interplay between elites and mass publics.

It deals with both long-term legacies and contemporary challenges to national and international regimes, focusing on two main areas: the historical trajectories that framed the modern nation-state and the dynamics and challenges of contemporary democracies. It pays particular attention to the specificity of the Portuguese case, (i.e. the late adoption of both a liberal-democratic state and a modern conception of citizenship rights) but always relating it to historical and international comparison, especially in regard to Southern Europe and Latin America.

The research agenda is structured around the following issues:

  • Processes of regime change;
  • The transformations of representative democracy;
  • The constitutional diffusion of political regimes;
  • The development of multi-level systems of governance, above and below the nation-state;
  • The institutional and political conditions that contribute to sustainable social, economic and environmental development, policy effectiveness and public accountability;
  • The persistence, reproduction and change of political elites;
  • And finally, the impact of social movements on institutional politics: the demand for more comprehensive control over policies and political elites by citizens. 
GI Seminars
Regimes and Political Institutions
Wed . 11 Apr . 11h15 to 13h00
Sala 1
Antonino Castaldo
GI Seminars
Regimes and Political Institutions
Wed . 9 May . 11h15
Sala 1
Sara Totta
GI Seminars
Regimes and Political Institutions
Wed . 23 May . 11h15
Sala 1
Pedro Molina Rodríguez-Navas
GI Seminars
Regimes and Political Institutions
Wed . 30 May . 11h15
Sala 1
Zoltán Dujisin
GI Seminars
Regimes and Political Institutions
Wed . 6 Jun . 11h15
Sala 1
Sanne Weber
GI Seminars
Regimes and Political Institutions
Wed . 20 Jun . 11h15
Sala 1
António Raimundo
GI Seminars
SPARC: Social and Political Attitudes: Resilience and Change
Regimes and Political Institutions
Fri . 21 Sep . 15h00
Sala 1
Carlos Milani
GI Seminars
SPARC: Social and Political Attitudes: Resilience and Change
Regimes and Political Institutions
Mon . 5 Nov . 15h00 to 17h00
Sala Polivalente
Peter Ronald deSouza
GI Seminars
Regimes and Political Institutions
Thu . 8 Nov . 11h00 to 12h30
Sala 1
Sammy Smooha
GI Seminars
Regimes and Political Institutions
Wed . 28 Nov . 11h00 to 12h30
Sala 1
Alfonso Chaves Montero
GI Seminars
Regimes and Political Institutions
Wed . 5 Dec . 11h00 to 12h30
Sala 1
Fernando Casal Bértoa
GI Seminars
Regimes and Political Institutions
Wed . 12 Dec . 11h00 to 12h30
Sala 1
Paulo Renato Silva (UNILA)
GI Seminars
Regimes and Political Institutions
Wed . 19 Dec . 11h00 to 12h30
Sala 1
Carlos Manuel Martins
GI Seminars
Regimes and Political Institutions
Wed . 16 Jan . 11h00 to 12h30
Sala 1
Jorge Garzón
GI Seminars
Regimes and Political Institutions
Wed . 23 Jan . 11h00 to 12h30
GI Seminars
Regimes and Political Institutions
Wed . 13 Feb . 11h00 to 12h30
Room 1
João Leitão
GI Seminars
Regimes and Political Institutions
Wed . 27 Feb . 11h00 to 12h30
Sala 1 | ICS-ULisboa
Ignacio Godinho Delgado
GI Seminars
Regimes and Political Institutions
Wed . 6 Mar . 11h00 to 12h30
Sala 1 | ICS-ULisboa
Natália Bueno
GI Seminars
Regimes and Political Institutions
Wed . 13 Mar . 11h00 to 12h30
Sala 1 | ICS-ULisboa
Orlando Martinelli
GI Seminars
Regimes and Political Institutions
Wed . 20 Mar . 11h00 to 12h30
Sala 1 | ICS-ULisboa
Fabio Gentile
GI Seminars
Regimes and Political Institutions
Wed . 10 Apr . 14h00 to 16h00
Sala Polivalente | ICS-ULisboa
Gary Goertz
GI Seminars
Regimes and Political Institutions
Wed . 3 Apr . 11h00 to 12h30
Sala 1 | ICS-ULisboa
Galaz García
Conferences
Comparative Politics
Regimes and Political Institutions
Wed . 24 Apr . 14h00
Sala Polivalente | ICS-ULisboa
Martín Lousteau
Coordenação