ECS Award

ECS Award

1st Edition of the ECS Award – the Award for Outreach Activities ICS-ULisboa 2020

The winners of the first edition of the Award for Outreach Activities (ECS Award) of ICS-ULisboa have been announced. This Award was created with the aim of reinforcing the ICS Outreach dimension. Thus, in this first edition, thirteen (13) applications were received in the three categories of the ECS Award, and the winning projects are:

Category A - communication and scientific dissemination activities in different media (for researchers). By majority, Luca Manucci the blog POP - Political Observer on Populism, for his citizenship role, as well as for the purpose of bidirectional communication (both Blog and Twitter) in an initiative developed with no funding or formal institutional support.

Category B - community outreach activities (initiatives geared towards, or developed with, the community and stakeholders). The Residents Assembly Prize (Assembleia de Moradores - Bairro 6 de Maio, Bairro da Torre, Bairro da Jamaika) and Caravan for the Right to Housing (Caravana pelo Direito à Habitação) by Simone Tulumello, Simone Frangella, and Roberto Falanga were awarded by unanimity for their originality and relevance of projects developed by academics and historically underrepresented groups and collaboration in these groups’ empowerment;

In the Unique Category (students), by unanimous decision, the Prize went to "Porto de Mós: time, space and memory - I Cycle of conferences", by Kevin Carreira Soares for the combination of scientific rigor with the involvement of local stakeholders.

The jury also decided to send two Honorable Mentions in Category A, to :

- ICS-UL / ISCTE-IUL polls, by Pedro Magalhães, Marina Costa Lobo and Alice Ramos; and

- Presentation of the Results of the 2nd Portuguese Survey on Sustainability (Barómetro de Desenvolvimento  Sustentável), by Mónica Truninger and Luísa Schmidt.

The jury of the first edition of the ECS Award was composed by external experts : Cristina Roldão, João Wengorovius Meneses, José Vitor Malheiros and Marta Lourenço, and chaired by the researcher of ICS-ULisboa, Rui Costa Lopes.